top of page

Fri, 28 Jun


Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall

Summer Festival 2024: Piano + (University of Leeds)

with the Marsyas Trio and violinist Christopher Jones

Registration is closed
See other events
 Summer Festival 2024: Piano + (University of Leeds)
 Summer Festival 2024: Piano + (University of Leeds)

Time & Location

28 Jun 2024, 19:30 – 21:30

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall, Woodhouse, Leeds LS2 3AR, UK

About The Event

£10 (general admission), free for students


With the Marsyas Trio and guest violinst Christopher Jones


Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel Trio in D Minor (arr. by Mark Gotham for flute, cello & piano)

Claude Debussy Pagodes (piano solo)

J.S. Bach Adagio from Toccata in E minor BWV 914 (piano solo)

Scriabin Vers la flamme (piano solo)


Johann Nepomuk Hummel  Adagio, Variations and Rondo on Schöne Minka Theme Op.78 (flute, cello & piano)

W.A. Mozart Piano concerto No. 466 (arr. by Hummel for keyboard, flute, violin & cello)

About the programme:

In the short space of less than 100 years between 1770 and 1860, piano underwent an astonishing evolution. Utilizing the cutting-edge technologies and manufacturing methods that became available thanks to the Industrial Revolution, Cristofori’s original 4-octave “gravicembalo col piano e forte” (harpsichord with soft and loud) quickly developed into the magnificent concert grand we know today – the instrument without which the history of Western classical music would be a different affair.

In this concert, the Marsyas Trio (the FUAM Ensemble-in-Residence at the University of Leeds) celebrates the versatility of piano as a solo and chamber instrument and showcases its limitless expressive palette. The programme also illuminates piano’s crucial role as composers’ trusted companion in creating and disseminating larger orchestral works.

By 1844 there were more than 9,000 arrangements of works in circulation including symphonies, concerti and operas. Known by Beethoven as ‘translations’, these orchestral works were often released simultaneously in several chamber ensemble versions, arranged by eminent composers of the day in consultation with the composers.

Hummel and Clementi, both virtuoso pianists themselves, arranged most of Beethoven’s symphonies and many of Haydn and Mozart’s symphonies and concerti, one of which – Mozart’s dramatic and sublimely beautiful Piano Concerto in D minor K.446 – takes centre stage in tonight’s programme.

Share This Event

bottom of page